Letters to the Editor

Eleven named to All-SEISC teams

New London leads HC with seven names on South Division list, W-MU gets four

Madie Anderson
Madie Anderson

The Southeast Iowa Super Conference announced its All-Conference list this week and Henry County is well-represented. New London had seven athletes named to the South Division list and Winfield-Mt. Union had four for the North Division.

New London had three players listed to the South Division first team. Juniors Layney Loyd and Kara Kriger were selected to the first team, as was freshman Ashlyn McSorley.

Loyd hit a ridiculous .577 this year and ended up with two home runs, a triple and 14 RBIs. Krieger hit .387 with two homers, a triple and a team-leading 28 RBIs. McSorley hit .260 with a homer, a triple and seven RBIs.

Winfield-Mt. Union ace Madie Anderson made the first team in the North Division. The sophomore had another phenominal year in the circle, going 17-8 with a 1.84 ERA and an insane 290 strikeouts. She also hit .254 with 13 RBIs.

The Tigers had two players, junior Alexa Wenger and sophomore Marah Hartrickn=, named to the second team. Anna Anderson received second team honors for W-MU in her eighth-grade season.

Honorable mentions from the area were senior Chloe Heitmeier and sophomore Sofie Reighard for New London, and eighth-grader Keetyn Townsley and sophomore Molly Miller for W-MU.

Listed below are the full All-SEISC teams with the player’s grade in school listed in parenthesis.

NORTH DIVISION FIRST TEAM: Pitcher: Madie Anderson (10), Winfield-Mt. Union; Abby Buckman (11), Lone Tree. Catcher: Katie Hearn (12), Louisa-Muscatine; Emma Reid (12), Wapello. Infield: Abbie Miller (12), Highland; Hailey Sanders (11), Louisa-Muscatine; Emilee Linder (11), Pekin; Suzanna Yoder (12), Iowa Mennonite; Aly Stokes (12), Highland. Outfield: Dani Laughlin (8), Highland; Zoey Wright (12), Pekin; Rubye Ney (12), Iowa Mennonite; McKenna Hohenadel (9), Louisa-Muscatine; Maddie Mashek (12), Louisa-Muscatine; Emily Yahnke (1), Highland; Ellie Ledger (12), Pekin.

NORTH DIVISION PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Kylie Sanders (10), Louisa-Muscatine.

NORTH DIVISION COACH OF THE YEAR: Bryan Butler, Louisa-Muscatine.

NORTH DIVISION SECOND TEAM: Pitcher: Megan Hoenig (12), Highland; Aliyah Lolling (10), Wapello. Catcher: Mackinze Hora (9), Highland; Anna Anderson (8), Winfield-Mt. Union. Infield: Lily Miller (11), Lone Tree; Mallory Hohenadel (12), Louisa-Musactine; Mia Graber (11), Iowa Mennonite; Serah Shafer (9), Wapello; Jenna Sands (10), Highland. Outfield: Jayde Eberhardt (9), Mediapolis; Mady Reid (11), Wapello; Arlie Lorack (9), Lone Tree; Mallory Mashek (10), Louisa-Muscatine; Sarah Schneider (12), Highland; Emma Milder (10), Columbus. Utility: Brynn Jeambey (9), Louisa-Muscatine; Emi Zook (10), Pekin; Sam Smith (12), Wapello.

SEISC NORTH DIVISION HONORABLE MENTION: Katie Koppe (12), Louisa-Muscatien; Whitney Willoz (11), Lone Tree; Sarah Branson (11), Lone Tree; Keetyn Townsley (8), Winfield-Mt. Union; Molly Miller (10), Winfield-Mt. Union; Ellie Anderson (10), Highland; Abbi Stransky (8), Highland; Sammy Ewart (10), Wapello; Toni Bohlen (10), Wapello; Mackenna Bandy (9), Mediapolis; Nova Petty (10), Mediapolis; Leah Bontrager (9), Iowa Mennonite; Sarah Miller (10), Iowa Mennonite; Libby White (9), Columbus; Quinn Scarff (12), Columbus.

SOUTH DIVISION FIRST TEAM: Pitcher: Lauren Summers (8), West Burlington-Notre Dame; Ava Smith (9), Danville. Catcher: Layney Loyd (11), New London; Maddie Cloke (11), Cardinal. Infield: Makenna Davis (12), West Burlington-Notre Dame; Lexi Jirak (11), Van Buren; Alyssa Pfadenhauer (12), Danville; Makenna Hall (12), Central Lee; Ashlyn McSorley (9), New London; Rachel Lewman (11), Cardinal; Addyson Kellen (11), West Burlington-Notre Dame; Salena Sayre (11), Van Buren; Kara Krieger (11), New London; Ashley Pfadenhauer (12), Danville. Utility: Alexis Davis (12), West Burlington-Notre Dame; Chelsey Huff (10), Van Buren; Sarah Cross (11), Danville.

SOUTH DIVISION PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Lauren Summers (8), West Burlington-Notre Dame

SOUTH DIVISOIN COACH OF THE YEAR: David Oleson, West Burlington-Notre Dame.

SOUTH DIVISION SECOND TEAM: Pitcher: Ally Campbell (8), Van Buren; Everlee Harvey (8), Central Lee. Catcher: Brooklynn Cormier (10), Van Buren; Bella Steffensmeier (9), Central Lee; Macy Watkins (9), Central Lee. Infield: Alycia Jackson (12), West Burlington-Notre Dame; Isabel Manning (10), Van Buren; Madelyn Stutsman (11), West Burlington-Notre Dame; Alexa Wenger (11), New London; Lydia Moses (11), Cardinal; Kelsey Jackson (12), Danville. Outfield: Shayna Sprinkle (12), Van Buren; Morgan Flowers (12), West Burlington-Notre Dame; Alexia McClure (10), Cardinal; Marah Hartrick (10), New London. Utility; Haiden Molter (10), Danville; Ella Jirak (10), Van Buren; Meghan Hopp (9), Central Lee.

SEISC SOUTH DIVISOIN HONORABLE MENTION: Caitlyn Reber (9), Cardinal; Ava Ferrell (8), Cardinal; Daly Brisby (11), Central Lee; Andrea Benner (11), Central Lee; Lauren Beckman (11), Danville; Morgan Waste (10), Danville; Chloe Heitmeier (12), New London; Sofie Reighard (10), New London; Taylor Thornsberry (12), Van Buren; Regan Engberg (9), West Burlington-Notre Dame; Raven Messamaker (10), West Burlington-Notre Dame.