River Valley Conference teams named

GTNS photo by Doug Brenneman

Mid-Prairie’s Brad Tornow takes a swing during a game this season.
GTNS photo by Doug Brenneman Mid-Prairie’s Brad Tornow takes a swing during a game this season.

Brad Tornow was an Elite team selection when the River Valley Conference released its teams for the 2019 baseball season.

Tornow was Mid-Prairie’s only player on the Elite team but the Golden Hawks landed two more on the South Division team in Vinnie Bowlin and Kayden Reinier.

Tornow, a junior, was unbeaten in nine starts and 11 appearances. He was 7-0 with a save, an earned run average of 1.02, 102 strikeouts, 12 walks and an opponents’ batting average of .167 in 55 innings pitched. He also led the Golden Hawks with 21 stolen bases in 23 attempts, a .417 batting average, .492 on base percentage, seven doubles and only seven strikeouts in 103 at bats.

Reinier, a sophomore, made 12 appearances on the mound and had a 4-0 record with two saves in 31 innings pitched. He had a 2.03 ERA with 25 strikeouts against 12 walks and an opponents’ batting average of .212.

Bowlin, a sophomore, had seven doubles, two home runs, in 79 at bats, and a .392 on base percentage.

2019 River Valley Conference Baseball All-Conference Teams

Elite Team:

Catcher: Riley Reed, Cascade; Brady Lukavsky, West Branch

Pitcher; Brad Tornow, Mid-Prairie; Cory Anderson, Wilton; Harris Hoffman, Cascade; Jared Townsend, Wilton

Infield: Reid Rausch, Cascade; Trey Eagle, West Branch; Collin McCrabb, Wilton; Trent Pelzer, Tipton

Outfield: Matt Paulsen, West Branch; Jon Mootz, Monticello; Trey Daugherty, Bellevue; Pete Espensen, West Branch

Utility: Chantz Stevens, Wilton; Chase Becker, Regina; Luke Becker, Tipton

South Divisional Team

Catcher: Brock Hartley, Wilton; Vinny Bowlin, Mid-Prairie

Pitcher: Ashton Stoelk, Wilton; AJ Lenz, West Liberty; Kayden Reinier, Mid-Prairie; Brendan Paper, Durant

Infield: Ben Orr, Durant; Caleb Wulf, West Liberty; Prescott Arendt, Regina; Brad Hunger, West Branch

Outfield: Garrett Bohnsack, Wilton; Jake Willkomm, Durant; Tanner Lukavsky, West Branch; Nate Dierickx, Durant

Utility: Caden Smith, Regina; Ted Bridges, West Branch; Will Esmoil, West Liberty

Coach of the Year: Jake Souhrada – Wilton

North Divisional Team

Pitcher: Eli Green, Cascade; Dylan Roher, Monticello; Cole Swartz, Bellevue; Mason McManus, Camanche

Infield: Justin Recker, Monticello; Mike Delzell, Camanche; Ted Weber, Cascade; Andrew Swartz, Bellevue

Catcher: Mason Byrns, Camanche

Utility: Zach Irwin, Camanche; Ethan Sahr, North Cedar; Caleb Topping, Cascade; Riley Konrady, Bellevue; Avery Martensen, Monticello

Outfield: Cade Everson, Camanche; Tyler Luensman, Monticello; Dakota Stevenson, Northeast; Jacob Wagner, North Cedar

Coach of the Year: Roamn Hummel - Cascade


South Division

team conference overall

Wilton 17-1 24-5

West Branch 14-4 20-7

Mid-Prairie 12-6 18-12

West Liberty 8-10 11-15

Durant 8-11 12-12

Tipton 8-11 12-17

Regina 6-12 10-22

North Division

Cascade 14-4 24-11

Camanche 13-5 18-13

Monticello 7-11 11-16

Bellevue 6-12 12-16

Anamosa 5-12 9-24

Northeast 4-12 5-21

North Cedar 3-14 3-14