Pekin, IMS leads All-District selections

Eleven area players named to small school All-Southeast teams

The Iowa Baseball Coaches Association released its All-District teams last week, and the Southeast District in Class 1A and 2A had plenty of Union coverage area players named.

Pekin co-led the way with three players named to the squad. The Panthers had two on the first team and two on the second. Iowa Mennonite had three players named. Highland had two players listed; one each on the first and second teams in Class 1A. New London, Mid-Prairie, and Keota each had one player listed.

Pekin seniors Tanner Bainbridge and Caleb Comstock represented their team on the Class 1A first team. Bainbridge hit a whopping .506 this year with nine doubles, two triples, five home runs and 31 RBIs, while also stealing 12 bases. Comstock hit .433 with 12 doubles and 22 RBIs, while swiping 11 bags of his own.

Pekin sophomore Brady Latcham made his way to the second team after going 4-2 on the mound with a 3.08 ERA and 45 strikeouts. Senior Quinn Ledger hit .351 with two doubles and 15 RBIs, and stole 16 bases on the year to land on the second team as well.

Iowa Mennonite’s Blake Bontrager made the Class 1A first team. The senior hit .415 with six doubles, a home run and 25 RBIs.

IMS teammates Trevor Leyden and Eli Ours were both named to the second team. Leyden, a senior, went 3-0 this season with a 0.33 ERA. Ours, a sophomore, hit .343 with 15 RBIs.

Highland senior Jacob Leonard was named to the first team. He rocked at the plate this season, hitting .517 with nine doubles, three home runs and 18 RBIs. Teammate Trey Lasek made second team after hitting .431 on the year, with five doubles, a triple, 10 RBIs and 12 stolen bases.

New London’s Darius Whaley found himself on the Class 1A first team. Whaley hit .414 with eight doubles, two triples and 16 RBIs this year.

Brad Tornow of Mid-Prairie earned first team honors on the Class 2A squad. The junior hit .417 with seven doubles, four triples and 12 RBIs, and also finished the year with a 7-0 pitching record, a 1.02 ERA and 102 strikeouts.

Colten Clarahan of Keota made the Class 1A second team. He was a star in his freshman year, hitting .424 with a double and 18 RBIs, and finishing the year with a 4-2 record and a 1.31 ERA on the mound.

Listed below are the Class 1A and 2A Southeast-District

CLASS 1A ALL-SOUTHEAST DISTRICT FIRST TEAM: Pitcher: Caleb Banowetz (11), Calamus-Wheatland; Brody Wolf (11), HLV; Mitchell Brent (11), Notre Dame; Max Hansen (12), Calamus-Wheatland. Catcher: Blake Bontrager (12), Iowa Mennonite; Bryce Houser (12), Lone Tree; 1B: Tyler Rowold (12), Calamus-Wheatland; 2B: Caden Fontinel (11), HLV; SS: Tanner Baibridge (11), Pekin; 3B: Jacob Leonard (12), Highland. OF: Hunter Rickels (12), Calamus-Wheatland; Dean Shaull (12), HLV; Caleb Comstock (12), Pekin; Dylan Fry (12), Belle Blaine; Utility: Carson Cheney (11), HLV; Avery Knock (11), Lone Tree; Darius Whaley (12), New London; Brant Boeckmann (12), Calamus-Wheatland; Noah Beck (11), BGM.

CLSS 1A ALL-SOUTHEAST DISTRICT SECOND TEAM: Pitcher: Cason Butz (11), Moravia; Trevor Leyden (12), Iowa Mennonite; Garrett Straight (12), Belle Plaine; Brady Latcham (10), Pekin. Catcher: Kody Timm (11), HLV; Quinn Ledger (12), Pekin. 1B: Brendan Wood (12), HLV. 2B: Mitchell White (11), BGM. SS: Hunter Arbogast (12), Moravia. 3B: Ryan Becker (12), Iowa Valley. OF: Cooper Andreassen (12), English Valley; Jeron Conner (11), Notre Dame; Trey Lasek (12), Highland; Cody Frahm (12), HLV. Utility: Colten Clarahan (9), Keota; Drew Chiprez (11), Notre Dame; Noah Mumby (12), Iowa Valley; Eli Ours (10), Iowa Mennonite; Hunter Rudd (12), BGM.

CLASS 2A ALL-DISTRICT FIRST TEAM: Pitcher: Brad Tornow (11), Mid-Prairie; Brennan Breuer (12), Mediapolis; Jared Townsend (12), Wilton; Trey Eagle (11), West Branch. Catcher: Brady Lukavsky (12), West Branch; Mason Byrns (10), Camanche. 1B: Matt Paulsen (11), West Branch. 2B: Chantz Stevens (12), Wilton. SS: Trevor Slayton (12), Davis County; 3B: Collin McCrabb (12), Wilton. Outfield: Zach Osborn (12), Mediapolis; Karson Cantrell (12), Louisa-Muscatine; Jake Willkomm (11), Durant. Utility: Cauy Massner (12), Mediapolis; Chase Becker (10), Iowa City Regina; Ben Orr (9), Durant; Cory Anderson (12), Wilton; Dreyton Vaveine (11), West Burlignton.

CLASS 2A ALL-DISTRICT SECOND TEAM: Pitcher: Brendan Paper (11), Durant; Ashton Stoelik (12), Wilton; Luke Becker (12), Tipton; Jared McCrea (10), Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont. Catcher: Caleb Wulf (9) West Liberty; Brock Hurtley (12), Wilton. 1B: Caden Smith (12), Iowa City Regina; 2B: Drew DeLong (11), Durant. SS: Trent Pelzer (11), Tipton. 3B: Scott Arndt (12), Iowa City Regina. OF: Garrett Bohnsack (12), Wilton; Tyler Dameron (12), West Burlington; Tanner Lukavsky (11), West Branch. Utility: Alex Diewold (11), Mediapolis; A.J. Bosten (12), Wilton; Garrett Jensen (12), Williamsburg; Ethan Sahr (11), North Cedar; Pete Espensen (11), West Branch.