Seven Union-area baseball players named 3A All-district

Three Demons, two Trojans and two Panthers named to Southeast District squads

Union file photo

Mt. Pleasant’s Jaxon Hoyle was named to the second team in the Class 3A Southeast District
Union file photo Mt. Pleasant’s Jaxon Hoyle was named to the second team in the Class 3A Southeast District

The Iowa Baseball Coaches Association released its All-District teams last week and the Southeast District in Class 3A had plenty of familiar names.

Washington had three players named to the All-Southeast teams, one on the first team and two on the second team. Fairfield had two first-teamers, and Mt. Pleasant had two second teamers.

Seniors Kosta Papazogolou and Austin Simpson represented Fairfield on the first team. Papazogolou was named as a catcher, and Simpson made the first team as a first basemen.

Papazogolou hit .274 on the year and also finished the season with 10 doubles, one triple, 10 home runs and 38 RBIs. He did work on the mound as well, finishing with a 7-2 record and a 0.97 ERA.

Simpson was just behing Papazogolou with a .473 average. He hit seven doubles and 16 home runs this season and led the Trojans with 49 RBIs.

Washington’s Cade Hennigan made the first team as an outfielder. Hennigan, a senior, hit .355 with five doubles and 17 RBIs.

Hennigan also had a good year on the mound. He finished the season 6-0 with a 3.64 ERA.

Senior pitcher Kole Hinrichsen and senior short stop Luke Turner were named to the second team. Hinrichsen went 6-3 with a 0.81 ERA on the mound, and Turner led the squad with a .406 average, 10 home runs, four triples, a homer and 38 RBIs.

Jaxon Hoyle and Chase Williamson represented Mt. Pleasant on the second team. They were also the only two non-seniors on the list from the Union coverage area.

Hoyle was named to the team as a pitcher. He went 8-1 this season with a 3.00 ERA. Williamson made the squad as an outfielder after hitting .342 with one double and 11 RBIs.

Listed below are the full teams for the Southeast-District in Class 3A.

CLASS 3A ALL-SOUTHEAST DISTRICT FIRST TEAM: Pitcher: Nick Gottilla (12), Assumption; Lucas Bixby (12), Central Dewitt; Brandon Schlichting (12), Assumption. Catcher: Garrett Finley (12), Central DeWitt; Kosta Papazogolou (12), Fairfield. 1B: Austin Simpson (12), Fairfield. 2B: Chris McSweeney (12), Solon. SS: Devin Hurdle (12), Central DeWitt. 3B: McCain Oden (11), Centerville. OF: Nate Schlichting (11), Assumption; Cade Hennigan (12), Washington; Brady Kauzlarich (10), Centerville. Utility: Merrick Mathews (10), Centerville; Cam Miller (11), Solon; Alex McAleer (11), Central Dewitt.

CLASS 3A ALL-SOUTHEAST DISTRICT SECOND TEAM: Pitcher: Kole Hinrichsen (12), Washington; Jayson Willers (12), Assumption; Jaxon Hoyle (11), Mt. Pleasant. Catcher: Dalton Boecker (12), Keokuk; Adam Bock (12), Solon. 1B: Jack Kragenbrink (11), Mt. VERNON. 2B: Kayden Kauzlarich (11), Centerville. SS: Luke Turner (11), Washington. 3B: Camden Smyka (12), Clear Creek-Amana. OF: Blake Booth (12), Mt. Vernon; Chase Williamson (10), Mt. Pleasant; Luke Anderson (11), Central DeWitt.