Miller-Meeks wins District 2 primary

Will face Democrat Rita Hart in the general election.

State Senator Mariannette Miller-Meeks will be facing Rita Hart in November.

Miller-Meeks won Tuesday’s Republican primary for the U.S. House District 2 seat with an overall majority of the vote according to the Associated Press.

Bobby Schilling finished as the race runner up. Other candidates included Rick Phillips of Pella, Knoxville’s Steven Everly and Iowa City’s Tim Borchardt.

The seat Miller-Meeks and Hart will compete for in November is currently held by Rep. Dave Loebsack, who has held the seat since 2006. Loebsack announced his retirement in April 2019. Miller-Meeks previously ran against Loebsack in 2008, 2010 and 2014.

Miller-Meeks, a state senator since 2018 representing Iowa Senate District 41 which includes Fairfield and Ottumwa, is an ophthalmologist and former director of the Iowa Department of Public Health. She also served for over two decades in the U.S. Army.

The House district includes Washington, Mt. Pleasant, Fairfield, Iowa City, Ottumwa, Davenport and other communities in Southeast Iowa.

The general election is Nov. 3.