Youngquist retains Washington City Council seat

City Council election results for Washington, Fairfield and Mt. Pleasant

Millie Youngquist will retain her seat on the Washington City Council, as she had the only contested council race in Washington.

Youngquist gardenered nearly 60 percent of the vote Tuesday, a total of 265 votes, for the At-Large seat. Challenger Andy Drahota received 179 votes.

Looking forward to her next term, Youngquist said her big goals are to continue working on taking the wellness park into its next stages, seeing the completion of the North Fourth Avenue sewer project that is to commence next spring and adding housing.

“I want to continue working on housing for Washington. We have a new ordinance we are considering (to help with) cleaning up some of our neighborhoods and making sure the properties are looking better. There are programs that the city is doing that are offering grants to homeowners in certain areas of the city,” she said.

She said she also has an interest in the Iowa Great Places Program offered by the state and would like to see Washington added to the list. She said the designation would come with the possibility of additional grants that could help improve the city.

Looking forward to the future, Youngquist said the city has gotten a great start on things and is looking forward to the opportunity to continue that work.

“It seems like the work never ends but I’m excited to be able to serve another four years,” she said.

Danielle Pettit-Majewski will sit on the Washington City Council for a full term representing Ward 1. Pettit-Majewski had previously been elected to fill a vacancy. She received 94 votes.

Brendan DeLong, Ward 3, received 163 votes in her uncontested race.

Washington County had less than 10 percent of its 15,100 registered voters cast ballots (1,494).

Fairfield’s only contested city race was to replace longtime mayor Ed Malloy. That race will be decided in a run-off election, as reported by The Union.

Four of Fairfield’s seven city council seats appeared on the ballot Tuesday. All four races were uncontested. The results were reported as of 10:30 p.m. Tuesday night.

Katy Anderson had netted 1,501 votes for the At-Large seat. Martha Rasmussen had 430 of the 436 votes cast for the Ward 1 seat. Judy Ham had 155 votes for the Ward 3 seat and Tom Twohill had 302 votes.

Only 24.98 percent of registered voters filled out ballots in Tuesday’s election. Of the 11,124 registered voters, only 2,779 made it to the polls.

In Mt. Pleasant, all four of the city’s seats — mayor and three council positions — were uncontested.

Steve Brimhall will continue as mayor, as he received 327 votes. There were four write-in names for the mayor in the election. At-Large council member Stephen Engberg netted 323 votes, with 1.52 percent of the votes going to a write-in candidate. Kent White (Ward 1) and Matthew Crull (Ward 3) received 68 and 81 votes, respectfully.

A little after 10 p.m. Henry County had completely reported its results. Unofficially, just over 10 percent of registered voters made their way to the polls in Henry County on Tuesday. Of the 13,698 registered voters, only 1,414 ballots were cast.

For a full list of election results, see Thursday’s editions of The Washington Evening Journal, Fairfield Ledger and Mt. Pleasant News.