10 Cobras 1st team, Pekin 5, Cardinal 3

Class 1A semifinalists, district champs lead in selections to squad

Cardinal's Maddux Jones snakes away for yardage from Sigourney-Keota's Jackson Droz (77) and Aiden Shuster (70) as teammate Christian Bowman (7) blocks Oct. 9 at Cardinal during the Cobras 68-8 win. All five were first team all-district picks in 2020. (File)
Cardinal's Maddux Jones snakes away for yardage from Sigourney-Keota's Jackson Droz (77) and Aiden Shuster (70) as teammate Christian Bowman (7) blocks Oct. 9 at Cardinal during the Cobras 68-8 win. All five were first team all-district picks in 2020. (File)

The Sigourney-Keota football team dominated its district play this season with an undefeated run on the way to the UNI-Dome and an eventual loss to the state champions, OABCIG.

The Cobras won their first three district games 41-0, 48-13 and 49-0 before a 31-14 redemption win against the Mediapolis team that took last season’s district title and edged the Cobras out of the playoffs. The next win was a game that was 13-8 at the end of the first quarter, but the Cobras struck furiously in the second quarter for a 42-8 halftime lead on the way to a 68-8 win over Cardinal, thus earning a first-round playoff bye. Cardinal got its first playoff win, beating Pekin (in what would have been a rematch but for COVID-19 canceling that regular season game) to earn a rematch with SK. Also in the first round, VBC lost to Mepo again and L-M lost to Durant.

Mediapolis and SK got second round wins, then the Cobras disposed of Dyersville-Beckman Catholic while Mepo lost to Waterloo Columbus Catholic. SK edged Columbus 35-32 for that trip to the UNI-Dome and the semifinal loss.

SK and Mepo dominated with 19 of the 29 first team spots filled by either Cobras or Bulldogs. Van Buren County and Louisa-Muscatine notched one apiece, Cardinal three and Pekin five, including Ironman Award winner Logan Kealy.

Fellow Panther first team seniors Brady Latcham and Cael Lyle were picks for the offensive line, helping Pekin to a close third in rush touchdowns at 18 and yardage with 2,126 to Mepo. Senior linebackers Cael Baker (8.0) and Mason Juhl (7.0) were part of Pekin’s team finish of second in tackles for loss. Lyle was fifth in sacks. Baker was 10th in solo tackles (34) and second in total stops (56).

First team selections for SK were offensive linemen Aidan Schuster and Zach Smithart who helped Sam Sieren finish first in the district in touchdowns (26), offensive yards (1,789) and all-purpose yards (1,820) while utility pick Cade Molyneux was fourth in both yards (1,269) and touchdowns (17), third in both passing TDs and rushing TDs. Cade Striegel and Jackson Droz were picked for the defensive line, helping SK lead the district in points against (7.1 district, 14,5 overall) and point differential (38.8, 26.6). Linebacker Jack Clarahan was sixth in solo tackles and eighth in total while Wyatt Sieren was tied for third in solos with teammate Colten Clarahan, who made second team, at 40. Wyatt Sieren had four interceptions and Brady Duwa led the district with five. Duwa also led in kickoff return TDs (two), yardage with 325, punt returns with 10, punt return yardage at 325 and TDs (two), was fourth in punts and fifth in yards per punt (363.8).

Van Buren County had the first team punter with Treyton Bainbridge, who led in number of punts (26), yardage (1,046) and average (40.2).

Cardinal had Maddux Jones, who was third in both offensive touchdowns (21) and offensive yards (1,387) while being second behind Reagan Thornburg of Mediapolis in completions and attempts, but first in rating. Griffin Greiner led in touchdown receptions (10) and receiving yards (652). Christian Bowman was the district’s kicker with half of his kickoffs touchbacks and a 3-for-7 Point After Touchdown success.




Maddux Jones, junior, Cardinal

Regan Thornburg, senior, Mediapolis

Running backs

Sam Sieren, senior, Sigourney-Keota

Anthony Isley, sophomore, Mediapolis

Wide receivers

Griffin Greiner, junior, Cardinal

Logan Thie, senior, Mediapolis

Xander Bieri, sophomore, Louisa-Muscatine

Offensive linemen

Zach Smithart, junior, Sigourney-Keota

Aidan Schuster, junior, Sigourney-Keota

Cael Lyle, senior, Pekin

Brady Latcham, senior, Pekin

Jordan Anderson, senior, Mediapolis


Cade Molyneux, junior, Sigourney-Keota

Defensive linemen

Cade Streigle, junior, Sigourney-Keota

Jackson Droz, junior, Sigourney-Keota

Levi Arnold, sophomore, Mediapolis

Haydn Eberhardt, senior, Mediapolis


Cole Lipper, sophomore, Mediapolis

Jack Clarahan, sophomore, Sigourney-Keota

Cael Baker, senior, Pekin

Mason Juhl, senior, Pekin

Defensive backs

Brady Duwa, senior, Sigourney-Keota

Wyatt Sieren, senior, Sigourney-Keota

Ben Egan, sophomore, Mediapolis


Josh Darbyshire, senior, Mediapolis


Christian Bowman, senior, Cardinal


Treyton Bainbridge, senior, Van Buren County


Brady Duwa, senior, Sigourney-Keota

Ironman Award

Logan Kealey, senior, Pekin



Bryce Greiner, senior; Brayden Moffit, senior; Colten Clarahan, junior; Levi Crawford, junior; Carson Sprouse, senior


Kadin Salek, junior; Drew Zurmuehlen, senior; Bryce Martin, senior; Bo Hightower, sophomore


Ian Liles, junior; Landon Becker, junior; Blaine Bryant, junior


Micheal Jones, senior; Justice Kirkbride, senior; Blake Juhl, sophomore


Trey Wagner, senior; Kendal Pugh, sophomore

Van Buren County

Treyton Bainbridge, senior; Sam Worth, sophomore



Evan Dawson, junior; Josh Mohr, senior


Kyle Vorwerk, freshman; Drew Miller, freshman


Beau LaRue, senior; Keegan Atkinson, senior


Dylan Krueger, senior; Colton Comstock, junior


Hayden Calvelage, senior; Emmanuel Walker, senior

Van Buren

Brant Tedrow, junior, Brice Winslow, senior



Sigourney-Keota 10-1 5-0

Mediapolis 7-3 4-1

Cardinal 5-4 2-2

Pekin 3-4 2-2

Louisa-Muscatine 1-7 1-4

Van Buren County 1-6 0-5