11 Area volleyball players named All-District

Columbus’ Emma Milder bumps a ball in the back row for the Wildcats. Milder was an All-District selection in Class 2A. (File)
Columbus’ Emma Milder bumps a ball in the back row for the Wildcats. Milder was an All-District selection in Class 2A. (File)

The Iowa Girls Coaches Association released its All-District teams for the sport of volleyball and the Union area is well represented, particularly in the smaller classes.

While the three area big schools did not get a name on the list, eleven players were named to the Southeast lists. Nine of those players are from Class 1A schools, and two are from schools in Class 2A.

New London, fresh off its Class 1A state tournament berth, lead the way with four names on the list. Senior hitter Sofie Reighard and senior libero Kyra Linkin made the team, as did junior setter Aliyah Christensen and sophomore hitter Keaura Williams.

Along with the four players, New London head coach Maureen Heath was named Coach of the Year in the Class 1A Southeast district.

WACO had three players on the Class 1A list. Senior libero Aubri Garnsey, senior hitter Morgan Graber and sophomore setter Grace Coble were honored.

Winfield-Mt. Union had two players named, both seniors. Hitter Jenna Buffington and libero Kyndal Townsley were both named to the Class 1A list.

The Union area received to names on the Class 2A list, both seniors. Van Buren County setter Isabel Manning and Columbus libero Emma Milder were both honored.

Listed below are the full Southeast District teams for Classes 1A, 2A, 3A and 4A. Full teams for all districts can be found at

CLASS 1A SOUTHEAST ALL-DISTRICT Gabby Deery, Burlington Notre Dame 10; Kassi Randolph, Holy Trinity 11; Aubri Garnsey, WACO 12; Katie Stephens, Burlington Notre Dame 11; Morgan Graber, WACO 12; Keaura Williams, New London 10; Claire Pothitakis, Holy Trinity 12; Jenna Buffington, Winfield Mt. Union 12; Peyton Robinson, Lisbon 10; Maria Rauenbuehler, Holy Trinity 12; Sofie Reighard, New London 12; Kyndal Townsley, Winfield Mt. Union 12; Kyra Linken, New London 12; Grace Coble, WACO 10; Kayla Jack, HLV 12; Kali Nelson, Lisbon 10; Aliyah Christensen, New London 10; District Coach of the Year: Maureen Heath, New London.

CLASS 2A SOUTHEAST ALL-DISTRICT Ella Caffery, Wilton 11; Kelsey Drake, Wilton 11; Carly Puffe,r Wilton 11; Kylee Sanders, Louisa-Muscatine 12; Annie Gahan, Iowa City Regina 12; Josie Wolter, Mediapolis 12; Nicki Henson, West Branch 12; Isabel Manning, Van Buren County 12; Emma Milder, Columbus Community 12; Lexi Klinkkammer, West Branch 11; McKenna Hohenadel, Louisa-Muscatine 11; Lexie Peak, West Branch 12; Brooklyn Bullard, Durant 12; District Coach of the Year: Brenda Grunder, Wilton.

CLASS 3A SOUTHEAST ALL-DISTRICT: Macy Daufeldt, West Liberty 11; Mya Merschman, Central Lee 12; Martha Pace, West Liberty 12; Ava Schubert, Assumption Davenport 10; Annabelle Costello, Assumption Davenport 12; Monica Morales, West Liberty 10; Maci Sloane, Camanche 12; Brooklyn Buysse, West Liberty 10; Gracie Ehret, Williamsburg 12; Maggie Wilkins, Knoxville 12; Emma Schubert, Assumption Davenport 12; Sydney Marlow, West Burlington 12; Abby Wellman, Central Lee 12; Marley McKay, Knoxville 12; Emalee Davis, Eddyville Blakesburg Freemont 12; DISTRICT COACH OF THE YEAR: Ruben Galvan, West Liberty.

CLASS 4A SOUTHEAST ALL-DISTRICT: Faith DeRonde, Oskaloosa 11; Grace Mikota, Dallas Center Grimes 12; Bailey Van Voorst, Pella 11; Calia Clubb, Clear Creek-Amana 11; Kate Callagan, Newton 12; Haylee Hidlebaugh, Dallas Center-Grimes 12; Kendall Anderson, Bondurant-Farrar 11; Anna Vander Waal, Pella 11; Hailey Pollock, Clear Creek Amana 12; Makayla Howard, Clinton 10; Hailey Steffan, North Polk 12; Grace Sutcliffe, Norwalk 12; Tori Carroll, Bondurant-Farrar 11; Jasmine Namminga, Pella 10; Skylar Mullen, Bondurant-Farrar 12; District Coach of the Year: Cheryl Voelker Dallas Center Grimes.