Clarahan, Duwa make SICL 1st Team

Eagles lands 5 players on all-conference baseball teams

Brady Duwa eyes the incoming pitch in a Keota game last season. Duwa was named an outfielder on the first team of the South Iowa Cedar League. (File)
Brady Duwa eyes the incoming pitch in a Keota game last season. Duwa was named an outfielder on the first team of the South Iowa Cedar League. (File)

Two Keota Eagles landed on the 2020 All-South Iowa Cedar League First Team for baseball with another perched on the second team and two more nested in the honorable mentions.

Keota sophomore Colten Clarahan was a choice for pitcher on the first team and junior Brady Duwa joined him as an outfield pick.

Patrick Clarahan was Keota’s pick on the second team while Crson Sprouse and Nolan Verstrate garnered honorable mention.

Claran’s earned run average of 1.46 was fourth best in the league, but his 64 strikeouts in 38 1/3 innings pitched were 12 more than fellow first team pitcher Carson Cheney of HLV, who led the league in innings pitched at 43.

Duwa’s two triples were second while Clarahan’s on base percentage was fourth at .566. Clarahan’s batting average of .439 was sixth. Duwa batted .320 with five doubles and a grand slam. he had an OBP of .393 and was seventh in total bases.

Wes Warwick was the SICL Coach of the Year.

In his first year as HLV’s head baseball coach, Warwick led the Warriors to their first season over .500 in eight years and in this, his second year, they didn’t lose a game until substate when Don Bosco defeated the Warriors.

Eleven of HLV’s wins were by at least five runs. Keota lost to HLV 2-0 in the second game of the season and 3-2 in district play.

2020 All-South Iowa Cedar League Baseball Teams

First Team

P Carson Cheney, senior, HLV

P Colten Clarahan, sophomore, Keota

P Brody Wolf, senior, HLV

C Dylan Kinker, junior, North Mahaska

C *Kody Timm, senior, HLV (Unanimous)

INF Blake Readshaw, junior, North Mahaska

INF Noah Beck, senior, BGM

INF Tristan Ross, senior, Colfax-Mingo

INF Josh Mohr, junior, Sigourney

INF Blaize Kulhman, senior, Lynnville-Sully

INF Ethan Kupka, junior, HLV

OF Cade Molyneux, sophomore, Sigourney

OF Brady Duwa, junior, Keota

OF Brayden Monroe, senior, Tri-County

OF Jordan Kreigel, senior, BGM

UTIL Ty Kelderman, junior, North Mahaska

UTIL Cade Streigle, sophomore, Sigourney

Second Team

P Logan Shipley, senior, North Mahaska

P Eli Slaymaker, junior, Iowa Valley

P Bray Noun Harder, senior, Lynnville-Sully

C Jake Moel, sophomore, BGM

C Corder Noun Harder, eighth grade, Lynnville-Sully

INF Dayton Pace, junior, Tri-County

INF Trevin Straight, senior, Belle Plaine

INF Eddie Burgess, sophomore, Montezuma

INF Levi Crawford, sophomore, Sigourney

INF Caden Fontinel, senior, HLV

OF Cole Watts, junior, Montezuma

OF Cole Stephenson, junior, English Valleys

OF Derek Leonard, senior, Iowa Valley

OF Patrick Clarahan, junior, Keota

UTIL Beau Flander, sophomore, English Valleys

UTIL Zach Steenhoek, junior, Colfax-Mingo

Coach of the Year: Wes Warwick, HLV

Honorable Mention

BGM: Jake Mavrer, freshman; Mitch White, senior

Belle Plaine: Jaxon Kressley, junior; Noah Bachelder, senior

Colfax-Mingo: Brady Berkey, senior; Cole Bracewell, sophomore

HLV: Will Bayer, senior; Boston York, eighth grade

Iowa Valley: Cale Hall, senior; Caden Knapp, freshman

Keota: Carson Sprouse, junior; Nolan Verstrate, senior

English Valleys: Cale Hester, senior; Tanner Mihal, senior

Lynnville-Sully: Conner Maston, junior; Payton VanWyk, junior

Montezuma: Brayden Arendt, senior; Owen Cook, freshman

North Mahaska: Grant Smith, junior; Sam Terpstra, sophomore

Sigourney: Mason Moore, junior; Brock Halleran, junior

Tri-County: Tegon Fogle, senior; Eli Molyneux, freshman,

South Iowa Cedar League Final Standings

Team Overall Conf.

HLV 15-1 11-0

Lynnville-Sully 10-8 8-3

Sigourney 10-6 7-4

BGM 8-5 7-4

North Mahaska 8-7 6-5

Keota 7-8 5-6

Iowa Valley 6-7 5-6

Montezuma 7-7 4-6

Colfax-Mingo 6-10 4-7

English Valleys 4-8 4-7

Belle Plaine 3-10 2-8

Tri-County 2-11 2-9