Cobras crown 3 champions

TRAER — At the North Tama Redhawk Invitational Saturday, Sigourney-Keota had three champions claim the crown.

Aidan Schuster, Daniel McLaughlin and Evan Dawson won their respective weight classes to help Sigourney-Keota finish third in the nine-team meet.

Jack Clarahan and Reid Molyneux made it to a title match but finished second for the Cobras.

At 182 pounds, one of Shuster’s three pins on the day happened with a second remaining in the first round. His next pin happened just after the second round had begun. It was in 2:24. He wasted no time in the last win of the day, getting the victory in 35 seconds. Shuster has a record of 30-9.

In the 126 bracket, McLaughlin, who has a record of 26-15, pinned Carter Boeding (9-16) of Hudson in 1:43 to win first after previously getting an 8-4 decision. He pinned two other opponents, one in 2:42, one in 1:42.

At 145, Dawson scored a 9-2 decision over Bryce Radeke, 20-15, of Vinton-Shellsburg in the tile match. His four other wins were all pins, three in the first round. The fourth happened just 14 seconds into the second round.

Clarahan (35-4) lost the 160 title to Tate Entriken of Hudson (31-2), who won with a technical fall of 22-7 in 3:18. Clarahan scored a 9-2 decision, a 9-1 major and two second-round pins to get to the title match.

Molyneux (17-8) wrestled for the title at 132 because he recorded two pins and a 6-5 win, but lost to Damon Swenson of Vinton-Shellsburg (23-6) in 3:04.

The Cobras had three third-place winners placewinners. They were DJ Hammes (20-23) at 120, Cade Molyneux (16-11) at 170 and Cade Streigle (30-10) at 195. Talan Zickefoose was fifth at 152. At 285, Zachary Smithart of Sigourney-Keota was injured.

TEAM SCORES — 1. Hudson 179, 2. Vinton-Shellsburg 167, 3. Sigourney-Keota 162, 4. BGM 134.5, 5. Waterloo Columbus 132, 6. North Tama 122, 7. Des Moines Roosevelt 68, 8. Baxter 66, 9. Montezuma 27.5