Hall of Fame welcomes 4 new members

Iowa institution names Hogan, Huff, Schultz, Zaputil

CRESCO — Four outstanding individuals who’ve contributed mightily to the sport of wrestling will be inducted into the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame in Cresco on Monday, April 13th.

The 51st Annual Awards Banquet and Induction Ceremony will begin with a 5:30 p.m. social hour followed by a 6:30 p.m. banquet at the Cresco Country Club south of Cresco.

Those being inducted are Tom Hogan, Thomas L. Huff, G. Wyatt Schultz and Chad Zaputil.

Hogan, of University of Northern Iowa, Wartburg and Gilbertville Don Bosco was a three-time state medalist, a state champion, a three-time National Collegiate Athletic Association DIII All-American, D3 NCAA Champion, and a renowned coach.

Col. Thomas L. Huff, U. S. Air Force DC Ret. of Waterloo West and the University of Iowa, was a three-time state champion, a two-time Big Ten champion, a two-time NCAA All-American, a two-time final Olympic Trials place winner and has multiple US Armed Services championships.

G. Wyatt Schultz of Postville, Cedar Rapids is the owner and publisher of The Predicament and is a sports photographer whose work has appeared in Wrestling USA, USA Wrestler, Wrestling Insider Newsmagazine, and Sports Illustrated.

Chad Zaputil of Centerville and the University of Iowa is a four-time state entrant, a two-time state champion, a three-time Big Ten Conference champion, and a three-time NCAA tournament finalist.

Advance registration is required to attend the banquet

The Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame’s sole purpose is the promotion of amateur wrestling in Iowa. The IWHOF has a rich history of honoring native Iowans at our annual awards banquet and induction ceremony. The inaugural banquet was held in 1970. At the conclusion of the 51st annual awards banquet on April 13th, 2020, the roster of inductees will include 137 outstanding individuals for their contributions to amateur wrestling. The website is at

The Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame is located in the Cresco Welcome Center at the intersection of Highway 9 and Elm Street. The Hall of Fame is open from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. daily.