High school football schedules released

Area's three big schools all open up at home

Union file photo

Maddux Jones (pictured) and the Cardinal football team will move up from Class A to 1A in 2020, one of three Union coverage area teams changing classes.
Union file photo Maddux Jones (pictured) and the Cardinal football team will move up from Class A to 1A in 2020, one of three Union coverage area teams changing classes.

Iowa high school athletics fans are finally able to have a little fun. While there are still no spring sports going on, the Iowa High School Athletic Association gave the Hawkeye state something to look forward to with the annual release of the 2020 high school football schedules.

The season will begin on Friday, Aug. 28, and all three of the area big schools will be in action at their own home field. Fairfield will host Knoxville, Mt. Pleasant will take on Clear Creek-Amana, and Washington will host Marion. Those are the same three teams each squad played in last year’s opener, when they all hit the road for Week 1.

Eight of the Union Coverage area’s 13 teams will play in Week 1. There are two games in the opening week in which two Union area teams play each other, as Sigourney-Keota travels to Mid-Prairie and Van Buren County will make its way to Riverside to take on Highland.

The area’s three Class 3A schools will play each other over the course of three weeks in late September and early October. Fairfield will host Mt. Pleasant on Sept. 25. Mt. Pleasant will host Washington on Oct. 2, and Washington will host Fairfield on Oct. 9.

Three Union area coverage teams are switching classes for the 2020 season. Both Cardinal and Pekin are moving up from Class A to Class 1A, joining Van Buren County’s district to pit the three Fairfield area schools against each other. Columbus will be moving down to Class A, joining Highland’s district, and playing the Huskies on Oct. 2 in Riverside.

The area’s Class 2A and Eight-Player teams remain in their respective classes. Mid-Prairie remains the only Class 2A team in the Union coverage area, and the trio of New London, WACO and Winfield-Mt. Union are the only Class Eight-Player squads.

Listed below are the full schedules for each of the area’s teams, seperated by class.



Aug. 28 vs. Knoxville

Sept. 4 at West Burlington/Notre Dame

Sept. 11 at Ottumwa

Sept. 18 vs. Centerville

Sept. 25 vs. Mount Pleasant

Oct. 2 at Burlington

Oct. 9 at Washington

Oct. 16 vs. Keokuk

Oct. 23 at Fort Madison

Mt Pleasant

Aug. 28 vs. Clear Creek Amana

Sept. 4 at Pella

Sept. 11 vs. Oskaloosa

Sept. 18 at Marion

Sept. 25 at Fairfield

Oct. 2 vs. Washington

Oct. 9 at Keokuk

Oct. 16 at Fort Madison

Oct. 23 vs. Burlington


Aug. 28 vs. Marion

Sept. 4 at Solon

Sept. 11 at Epworth, Western Dubuque

Sept. 18 vs. Assumption, Davenport

Sept. 25 vs. Fort Madison

Oct. 2 at Mount Pleasant

Oct. 9 vs. Fairfield

Oct. 16 vs. Burlington

Oct. 23 at Keokuk



Aug. 28 vs. Sigourney-Keota

Sept. 4 vs. Iowa City Regina

Sept. 11 at Mediapolis

Sept. 18 at Mount Vernon

Sept. 25 vs. Central Lee

Oct. 2 vs. Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont

Oct. 9 at Williamsburg

Oct. 16 at Davis County

Oct. 23 vs. West Burlington/Notre Dame



Aug. 28 at Wayne, Corydon

Sept. 4 vs. North Mahaska, New Sharon

Sept. 11 vs. Central Lee

Sept. 18 at Highland

Sept. 25 at Pekin

Oct. 2 vs. Louisa-Muscatine

Oct. 9 at Mediapolis

Oct. 16 vs. Van Buren County

Oct. 23 vs. Sigourney-Keota


Aug. 28 at Central Lee

Sept. 4 vs. Belle Plaine

Sept. 11 vs. Davis County

Sept. 18 at Wayne, Corydon

Sept. 25 vs. Cardinal

Oct. 2 at Mediapolis

Oct. 9 vs. Sigourney-Keota

Oct. 16 at Louisa-Muscatine

Oct. 23 at Van Buren County


Aug. 28 at Mid-Prairie

Sept. 4 vs. West Branch

Sept. 11 at Wapello

Sept. 18 vs. Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont

Sept. 25 at Louisa-Muscatine

Oct. 2 vs. Van Buren County

Oct. 9 at Pekin

Oct. 16 vs. Mediapolis

Oct. 23 at Cardinal

Van Buren County

Aug. 28 at Highland

Sept. 4 vs. Central Lee

Sept. 11 vs. West Burlington/Notre Dame

Sept. 18 at Columbus

Sept. 25 vs. Mediapolis

Oct. 2 at Sigourney-Keota

Oct. 9 vs. Louisa-Muscatine

Oct. 16 at Cardinal

Oct. 23 vs. Pekin



Aug. 28 vs. Louisa-Muscatine

Sept. 4 at Alburnett

Sept. 11 at North Mahaska, New Sharon

Sept. 18 vs. Van Buren County

Sept. 25 at Lisbon

Oct. 2 at Highland

Oct. 9 vs. Wapello

Oct. 16 vs. Iowa City Regina

Oct. 23 at North Cedar, Stanwood


Aug. 28 vs. Van Buren County

Sept. 4 vs. Wilton

Sept. 11 at Belle Plaine

Sept. 18 vs. Cardinal

Sept. 25 at Wapello

Oct. 2 vs. Columbus

Oct. 9 vs. North Cedar, Stanwood

Oct. 16 at Lisbon

Oct. 23 at Iowa City Regina


New London

Aug. 28 vs. B-G-M, Brooklyn

Sept. 4 at English Valleys, North English

Sept. 11 at Moravia

Sept. 18 vs. WACO

Sept. 25 vs. Montezuma

Oct. 2 at Lone Tree

Oct. 9 vs. Winfield-Mt. Union

Oct. 16 vs. Tri-County, Thornburg

Oct. 23 at Twin Cedars, Bussey


Aug. 28 vs. English Valleys, North English

Sept. 4 vs. Twin Cedars, Bussey

Sept. 11 at H-L-V, Victor

Sept. 18 at New London

Sept. 25 vs. Lone Tree

Oct. 2 at Moravia

Oct. 9 at Tri-County, Thornburg

Oct. 16 vs. Montezuma

Oct. 23 at Winfield-Mt. Union

Winfield-Mt. Union

Aug. 28 at Lone Tree

Sept. 4 vs. Moravia

Sept. 11 vs. Tri-County, Thornburg

Sept. 18 at Montezuma

Sept. 25 at Twin Cedars, Bussey

Oct. 2 vs. Iowa Valley, Marengo

Oct. 9 at New London

Oct. 16 vs. English Valleys, North English

Oct. 23 vs. WACO