Malone, Scorpil, Meader win titles WACO crowns a number of area champs

Saturday saw a number of area wrestlers and their teams in area tournaments.

New London wins at WACO

Cardinal, Highland, Mid-Prairie, New London, Pekin and Washington were at WACO’s Warrior Tournament and New London outscored Mid-Prairie for the team title with Pekin edging Wapello by a half point for third.

Listed below are championship results for each weight class that included a Union area wrestler.

106 Easton Schlabaugh (Highland, Riverside) 20-3, So. over Dalton Ervin (Moravia) 15-4, Jr. (Dec 4-1)

113 Bryce Thompson (Highland, Riverside) 19-3, Sr. over Grady Gunn (Mediapolis) 20-12, Fr. (Fall 5:04)

120 Marcel Lopez (New London) 32-0, Sr. over Cole Smith (Baxter) 18-12, (Fall 3:27)

138 Quinten Aney (Mediapolis) 29-1, over Michael Jones (Pekin) 29-9, Sr. (Fall 0:42)

145 Dominic Lopez (New London) 31-2, So. over Jakson Cobb (Wayne, Corydon) 23-6, Sr. (TF-1.5 4:31 (19-4))

152 Josh Glendening (New London) 29-3, So. over Cael Baker (Pekin) 25-6, Sr. (Dec 8-1)

160 Connor Golston (Moravia) 19-3, So. over Chase Greiner (Washington) 11-10, Fr. (Fall 2:54)

170 Boden Pickle (New London) 23-10, So. over Ethan Martin (Moravia) 13-7, Sr. (Fall 0:21)

182 Mason Juhl (Pekin) 29-2, Sr. over Jacob Waller (Bellevue) 26-6, Jr. (DQ)

195 Cael Garvey (Mid-Prairie) 25-3, Jr. over Donovan Babcock (Cardinal Community) 15-5, Sr. (Fall 2:44)

220 Josh Wallington (Mid-Prairie) 30-2, Sr. over Micah Kearns (Baxter) 14-7, . (Fall 1:04)

285 Gannon Callahan (Mid-Prairie) 25-4, Jr. over Chad Kent (Wayne, Corydon) 18-9, Jr. (Fall 1:06)

Schlabaugh (Highland, Riverside) 20-3, So. over Dalton Ervin (Moravia) 15-4, Jr. (Dec 4-1)

TEAM SCORES -- 1. New London 134, 2. Mid-Prairie 122, 3. Pekin 118.5. 4. Wapello 118, 5. Mediapolis 89.5. 6. (tie) HLV 81 & Moravia 81, 8. Highland 79.5, 9. Bellevue 71, 10. Baxter 63, 11. (tie) Washington & English Valleys-Tri County 55, 13. Wayne 42, 14. Cardinal 26, 15. WACO 8.

Wildcats crown 2

CENTERVILLE ­— Columbus/Winfield-Mt. Union, Fairfield, Mt. Pleasant and Van Buren wrestled at Centerville’s Big Red Invite. C/W-MU finished with the highest team score among the Union area teams, bolstered by two champion Wildcats in Lane Scorpil and Chance Malone. Mt. Pleasant’s Carson Coleman and Van Buren County’s Brant Tedrow each placed second.

Malone, who now has a 20-2 record, had four pins and a 7-0 decision in winning the heavyweight title. One pin happened in just 20 seconds and it wasn’t the first round, but the title match over Logan Green (Clarinda, 25-6), putting a large exclamation mark on his championship.

Scorpil (20-1) won the title at 113 over Connor Fiser (Bondurant-Farrar, 10-2) with a pin in 2:55.

At 126, Coleman (17-3) lost a 9-2 decision in the title bout to Chase Fiser of Bondurant-Farrar (20-2).

Tedrow (13-5) was pinned in 2:25 by Crew Howard (Clarinda, 28-1) in the match for the 220.

Logan Adam of Fairfield (9-10) was fourth at 152. At 145, Payton Cline (11-6) of Fairfield was fifth.

At 160, Gerardo Orozco (9-6) of C/WMU was fifth.

At 182, Trent Wilkerson (12-10) of C/WMU took fifth, Theodore Metcalf (11-7) of Fairfield seventh and Preston Buss (9-8) of Van Buren County eighth.

At 138, Cohyn Roach (12-6) of Fairfield was seventh and Cole Storm (10-10) of Columbus/WMU was eighth, then ninth was Tyler Stoltz of Van Buren County.

Two sixth-place finishers were Jacob Bland (8-10) of Fairfield at 120 and at 285 Josiah Westercamp (9-11) of Van Buren County.

T.J. Jirak (7-14) of Van Buren County at 120 and Ty Scorpil at 106 (10-11) of C/WMU both placed seventh.

At 126, Brecken Courtright (7-12) of Fairfield was sixth and Korbin Camp (5-10) of Van Buren County eighth.

TEAM SCORES -- 1. Creston/O-M 201.5, 2. Clarinda 170, 3. Bondurant-Farrar 152, 4. Ottumwa 118, 5. PCM Monroe 109, 6. Kirksville 97, 7. Davis County 85, 8. Centerville 76, 9. Knoxville 75, 10. Columbus/Winfield-Mt. Union 73.5

11. Fairfield 49, 12. Van Buren County 43, 13. Mount Pleasant 19.5

Mid Parairie Meader gets title, Garvey 2nd

Mid-Prairiie’s Sarah Meader won one of the 25 individual titles Saturday at the Independence Girls Tournament. Teammate Mia Garvey took second in another division, losing the title match by a single point.

Mid-Prairie results

Girls G-20

Sarah Meader won first place.

Quarterfinal - Meader won by fall over Jaeydn Heeren (Ames) (Fall 0:47)

Semifinal - Meader won by fall over Rory Siems (AGWSR) (Fall 3:49)

1st Place Match - Meader won by fall over Malia Cook (Muscatine) (Fall 1:02)

Girls G-17

Mia Garvey placed second.

Quarterfinal - Garvey won by fall over Katelynn Huebsch (Osage) (Fall 1:27)

Semifinal - Garvey won by fall over Michaela Scranton (Anamosa) (Fall 1:59)

1st Place Match - Paetyn Blockhus (Crestwood) won by decision over Garvey (Dec 1-0)

Girls G-1

Abigail Grout placed eighth, pinned three times.

Girls G-4

Emil Harmston placed eighth, pinned twice, then lost a 3-2 decision.

Girls G-8

Bronwyn Brenneman placed sixth. After being pinned, she won a 4-0 decision, but was pinned in the fiftgh place match.

Girls G-9

Ellie Brenneman placed eighth, three losses by fall.

Girls G-14

Marissa Cline placed seventh, losing by fall, losing an 8-2 decision then getting a win with a :51 pin.

Girls G-15

Caitlyn Busch placed seventh, losing by fall, then the closest match for the team was a loss in sudden victory-1, 8-6. She won a 4-1 decsision.

Girls G-18

Madison Kelly placed seventh, losing by pin twice then won a mefical forfeit.