Panther girls roll in FM

Ryon leads MP to win at Timm Lamm invite; Fairfield boys take second

Union photo by Andy Krutsinger

Washington’s Evan Horak dashes past a group of spectators towards the finish line on Thursday evening.
Union photo by Andy Krutsinger Washington’s Evan Horak dashes past a group of spectators towards the finish line on Thursday evening.

FT. MADISON — On a hot and humid day in Ftt. Madison, it was the Mt. Pleasant girls who beat the heat. The Panthers won the Class “A” girls cross-country meet in style, placing four in the top five to win the meet by 22 points.

The Panthers were led by Abby Ryon, who set a personal record and won the girls’ individual race by two minutes.

“It’s a little hot, but I felt strong,” Ryon said. “I had a nice long warmup and it made me feel really ready to race. For some reason I run really fast on this course.”

Ryon was followed by Rylee Blake of Muscatine, and after Blake came two more Panthers. Maggie Jennings and Abby Blint ran side by side till the final stretch, where Jennings would take third, and Blint would take fourth.

“It’s really nice (running with a teammate),” Jennings said. “It pushes you to do better and run faster. You want to beat them, but at the same time, if they eat you, then you’re proud of them.”

Cristina Carthey took fifth individually, and Monroe Swain finished 12th to round out the Panther scorers.

Washington finished fourth in the girls race. Grace Voss took seventh. Abby Voss was 18th. Tori Hinson was 25th, and Josie Tanner finished 27th.

The Fairfield girls took fifth. Makenzie Kraemer was 15th, Hailey Pohren-Gevock finished 16th, Ashlyn Lisk was 19th. Amiritha Kumar took 22nd, and Mahayla Mellott placed 30th.

The Trojan boys placed four runners in the Top 25 to finish best among Class “A” boys’ teams. Alex Forrest and Bryan Wilkins finished eighth and ninth respectively. Kaidyn Mickels took third. Gavin Van Veen was 23rd, and Brecken Courtright finished 27th.

It was a pair of Washington runners who led the area individually. The first of those was Evan Horak, who took fourth overall.

“Of course the sun comes out right before the race,” Horak joked. “But I felt pretty good. The first mile felt strong. My legs got a little tired after the first mile and a half, but that’s expected.”

Three spots behind him was Lance Sobaski, who placed seventh overall, the second best Class “A” runner in the area.

“My race to me is the same as everyone else’s race to everyone else,” Sobaski said. “If I felt the heat, so did they.”

Elijah Morris placed 13th individually. Matt Collett took 30th, and Drew Horak placed 37th.

Mt. Pleasant finished sixth in the Class “A” boys’ race. Luke Ryon led the Panthers with a 20th-place finish. Nick McCormick was 22nd. Logan Whtie finished 25th. Logan Lee was 31st, and Nate McWilliams was 38th.

The Danville-New London girls dominated in the Class “B” boys’ race, putting five runners in the Top 10, including Ty Carr, who finished third overall. Columbus was second in Class B, and Winfield-Mt. Union took third.

The D-NL girls took second by just one point in the Class “B” girls’ race. Clark County, Missouri edged the Bears. Addison Parrott won the race by over 10 seconds. Van Buren didn’t record a team score, but placed two runners in the Top 10.

CLASS “A” BOYS TEAM SCORES: 1. Muscatine 35 2. Fairfield 78 3. Ft. Madison 83 4. Washington 91 5. Burlington 104 6. Mt. Pleasant 136 7. Keokuk 188

CLASS “A” BOYS TOP 10: 1. Connor Stringer, Burlington, 16:46; 2: Sam Gordon, Muscatine, 16:52; 3. Logan Kirchner, Muscatine, 16:56; 4. Evan Horak, Washington, 17:17.6; 5. Aidan Daufeldt, Muccatine, 17:33; 6. Tim Burns, Keokuk, 17:36; 7. Lance Sobaski, Washington, 17:37; 8. Alex Forrest, Fairfield, 17:39; 9. Bryan Wilkins, Fairfield, 17:50; 10. Aidan Armstrong, Musactine, 18:02.

CLASS “A” GIRLS TEAM SCORES: 1. Mt. Pleasant, 25; 2. Muscatine, 47; 3. Ft. Madison, 90; 4. Washington, 101; 5. Fairfield, 102.

CLASS “A” GIRLS TOP 10: 1. Abby Ryon, Mt. Pleasant, 18:51; 2. Rylee Blake, Muscatine, 21:49; 3. Maggie Jennings, Mt. Pleasant; 21:25; 4. Abby Blint, Mt. Pleasant, 21:26; 5. Cristina Carthey, Mt. Pleasant, 22:02; 6. Gwen Kuhl, Muscatine, 22:13. 7. Grace Voss, Washington, 2:14; 8. Anna Kester, Fort Madison, 22:21; 9. Luaren Dirth, Muscatine, 22:23; 10. Molly Guerra, Muscatine, 22:27.

CLASS “B” BOYS TEAM SCORES: 1. Danville-New London 34; 2. Columbus 88; 3. Winfield-Mt. Union 99; 4. Clark County (Mo.) 109; 5. Notre Dame-West Burlington 137; 6. Holy Trinity 142; 7. Mediapolis 185; 8. Central Lee 200; 9. Louisa-Muscatine 202.

CLASS “B” BOYS TOP 10: 1. Nathan Freeze, Clark County, 16:29; 2. Matt Hellige, Holy Trinity, 16:49; 3. Ty Car, Danville-New London, 16:55. 4. Corbyn Harper Clark County 17:28. 5. Jonah Heckenberg, Van Buren, 17:39. 6. Brody Barton, Winfield-Mt. Union, 17:48. 7. Allen Bonnesen, Danville-New London 18:00: 8. Alexander Julian, New London, 18:01; 9. Oliver Sowell, Danville-New London, 18:18; 10. Ethan Nelson, Clark County, 18:23.

CLASS “B” GIRLS TEAM SCORES: 1. Clark County 33; 2. Danville-New London 34; 3. Mediapolis 59; 4. Louisa-Muscatine 88.

CLASS “B” GIRLS TOP 10: 1. Addison Parrott, Danville-New London, 19:34; 2. Grace Buschling, Clark County, 19:55; 3. Faith Neely, Van Buren, 21:09; 4. Breann Yaley, Danville-New London, 22:10; 5. Brooklyn Moehle, Mediapolis, 22:16; 6. Amanda Gilpin, Central Lee, 22:34; 7. Cady St. Clair, Clark County, 22:46; 8. Madison Kauth, Clark County, 22:48; 9. Avery Maeder, Winfield-Mt. Union, 23:18; 10. Codi Welch, Van Buren, 23:20.3.