Rankings: Area runners, teams static

Mid-Prairie girls, Danville-New London boys atop Class 2A again

Ana Fleming tries to recover from her run at the state cross country meet last season where she finished 11th in 19 minutes, 46 seconds and MidPrairie won the team Class 2A title. (File)
Ana Fleming tries to recover from her run at the state cross country meet last season where she finished 11th in 19 minutes, 46 seconds and MidPrairie won the team Class 2A title. (File)

It was more of the same in the Iowa High School Track and Field and Cross-Country Coaches Association’s high school rankings for individuals and teams this week with little movement on area runners and their teams.

For the second consecutive week, the individual Class 2A girls rankings placed Mid-Prairie runners at Nos. 1 (Danielle Hostetler), 2 (Jaden Yoder) and 4 (Sydney Yoder) which kept the Golden Hawks at the top of the 15 ranked teams.

The Mid-Prairie boys remained in third place with three individuals ranked. Thaddeus Shelter tops Golden Hawk boys slotted at No. 19 with Jamison Stutzman at 21 and Chandler Hershberger 26th.

Danville-New London’s boys stayed atop the 2A team poll as Ty Carr moved from No. 11 to No. 8 and teammate Alexander Julian climbed from No. 14 to No. 11.

Brady Millikin of Pekin stayed at No. 4 in Class 1A, but the Panthers fell a spot to sixth.

A 1A boys team, Colo-Nesco, fell from the teams to watch but the Columbus Wildcats are still on that list.

Pekin’s girls remained in second in 1A and Lily Fariss remained at No. 22 with Lauren Dershied at No. 29, the same as last week.

Addison Parrott of Danville-New London dropped in 2A, landing at No. 13 from last week’s No. 7 and the previous week’s No. 3, but her team remains on the watch list.

Winfield-Mount Union’s Brody Barton stayed at 25th in 1A boys.



Class 4A

1. Sioux City North, 2. West Des Moines Dowling Catholic, 3. Cedar Falls, 4. Dubuque Hempstead, 5. Cedar Rapids Prairie, 6. Ankeny Centennial, 7. Johnston, 8. Pleasant Valley, 9. Waukee, 10. Ames, 11. Iowa City West, 12. Iowa City Liberty, 13. Iowa City, City High, 14. Norwalk, 15. Ankeny

Teams to watch: Cedar Rapids Kennedy, Linn-Mar, North Scott, Southeast Polk, Urbandale

Class 3A

1. Dallas Center Grimes, 2. Center Point Urbana, 3. Pella, 4. North Polk, 5. Solon, 6. Marion, 7. Mount Vernon-Lisbon, 8. Dubuque Wahlert, 9. Decorah, 10. Waverly Shell Rock, 11. Humboldt, 12. Clear Creek Amana, 13. Monticello, 14. Carlisle, 15. Le Mars,

Teams to watch: Atlantic, Boyden-Hull Rock Valley, Glenwood, MOC Floyd Valley, West Delaware,

Class 2A

1. Danville-New London, 2. Denver, 3. Mid-Prairie, 4. Williamsburg, 5. Tipton, 6. Davis County, 7. Western Christian, 8. Des Moines Christian, 9. Central Decatur, 10. GC-GR, 10. North Fayette Valley, 11. Albia, 12. Okoboji, 13. GLR-CL, 14. Waukon, 15. Jesup

Teams to watch: Anamosa, Clarinda, Crestwood, GC-GR, Northeast

Class 1A

1. Madrid, 2. Earlham, 3. Maquoketa Valley, 4. Bellevue, 5. West Fork, 6. Pekin, 7. Nodaway Valley, 8. Cascade Western Dubuque, 9. Newman Mason City, 10. Ogden, 11. Calamus-Wheatland, 12. Gehlen Catholic (Le Mars), 13. ACGC (Guthrie Center), 14. South Winneshiek, 15. IKM-Manning

Teams to watch: Collins-Maxwell, Columbus Community (Columbus Junction), East Marshall, St. Edmond Fort Dodge, Tri-Center


Class 4A

1. Johnston, 2. Linn-Mar, 3. West Des Moines Valley, 4. Waukee, 5. Southeast Polk, 6. Ankeny Centennial, 7. Dubuque Hempstead, 8. Urbandale, 9. Bettendorf, 10. Iowa City, City High, 11. Iowa City Liberty, 12. Cedar Rapids Prairie, 13. Dubuque Senior, 14. Sioux City East, 15. Indianola

Teams to Watch: Ankeny, Cedar Falls, Epworth Western Dubuque, Norwalk, Pleasant Valley

Class 3A

1. Ballard, 2. Dallas Center-Grimes, 3. Dubuque Wahlert, 4. Sioux City Heelan, 5. Harlan, 6. Glenwood, 7. Solon, 8. Decorah, 9. Mount Vernon-Lisbon, 10. Charles City, 11. Carlisle, 12. Spencer, 13. Davenport Assumption, 14. Sergeant Bluff-Luton, 15. Waverly-Shell Rock

Teams to Watch: Atlantic, Benton, MOC-Floyd Valley, Monticello, Pella

Class 2A

1. Mid-Prairie, 2. Williamsburg, 3. Jesup, 4. WcKp, 5. Starmont, 6. Unity Christian, 7. Panorama, Panora, 8. Denver, 9. Waukon, 10. Davis County, 11. Sibley-Ocheyedan, 12. Roland Story, 13. Tipton, 14. Cherokee, 15. Okoboji

Teams to Watch: Chariton, Danville-New London, Dike-New Hartford, DSM Christian, George-Little Rock

Class 1A

1. Van Meter, 2. Pekin, 3. Hudson, 4. Iowa City Regina, 5. South Winneshiek, 6. St. Edmond, 7. Newman Mason City, 8. North Linn, 9. Nasuha Plainfield, 10. ACGC, 11. Turkey Valley, 12. Kee Lansing, 13. Tri Center, 14. AHSTW, 15. Collins Maxwell

Teams to Watch: Central Elkader, Montezuma, Nodaway Valley, Prince of Peace, Sumner Fredricksburg