Sobaski is fastest Demon ever, Blint to state

Mt. Pleasant’s Abby Blint (pictured) took 12th in her state qualifying race to advance to her first state cross-country meet. (File)
Mt. Pleasant’s Abby Blint (pictured) took 12th in her state qualifying race to advance to her first state cross-country meet. (File)

MONTICELLO — Goal set, goal achieved, history marked.

Lance Sobaski and Abby Blint are state bound.

Sobaski worked hard in the offseason, worked hard during the season and set goals for himself. One goal was a top five finish at a state-qualifying cross-country meet.

Sobaski finished second Wednesday at the Class 3A meet to advance to state next Friday. Sobaski, who last week checked off another goal when he became the first Washington male to win a Southeast Conference individual title, ran the fastest time ever for a Demon, 16 minutes, 27 seconds in the best district finish ever for a Demon. Brandon Barker of Clear Creek-Amama won in 16:17.

Gabby Moran of Dubuque Wahlert won the girls in 18:58 and Mt. Pleasant’s Abby Blint was 12th in 20:06 to advance to state. That time was a personal record for her.

“I went out fast, just trying to stick with the girls ahead of me, but I hit a wall and just had to chug along,” Blint said. “I made sure nobody passed me in the last mile. I am so excited to be going to state, excited and tired.”

Sobaski got off to a strong start and was in third right away. He passed second place just after the two-mile mark. He continued to push the pace and pulled ever further ahead of the pack behind him. “Lance ran such a smart, controlled race,” WHS coach Stefanie Haworth said. “He is looking stronger than I’ve ever seen him run.”

The Demons boys tied for seventh but lost the tiebreaker to place eighth and Mt. Pleasant was ninth with Ben Carthey placing 18th.

Washington girls finished sixth and Mt. Pleasant was seventh. The Panthers finished ahead of the Demons at the SEC meet.

“Our pack ran extremely strong and. Hannah Rees ran a PR by 13 seconds,” Haworth said. “I am extremely proud of everyone, but especially my seniors. They had a great season and ended their careers with a great meet running PR’S or just a few seconds off their PRs. They have been great leaders for the whole team all season and will definitely be missed by everyone.”

Four out of seven Mt. Pleasant girls had a season-best time.


GIRLS TEAM SCORES — 1. Wahlert 26, 2. Davenport Assumption 57, 3. Solon 73, 4. Monticello 111, 5. Clear Creek Amana 145, 6. Washington 198, 7. Mt. Pleasant 204, 8. West Delaware 214, 9 Xavier 245, 10. Maquoketa 259, 11. Central DeWitt 286.

6. Washington girls — 31. Hannah Rees 21:40.1, 38. Abby Kleese 22:10.1, 39. Taylor Bartholomew 22:14.7, 42. Cloe Telleen 22:40.8, 48. Grace Voss 22:55.9, 60. Josie Tanner 23:21.4, 64. Molly Klinzman 23:36.9 7:36

7. Mt. Pleasant girls — 12. Abby Blint 20:06, 28. Belle Meador 21:15.3, 37. Cristina Carthey 22:04.4, 62. Audrey Lord 23:31.1, 65. Jeneva Dykstra 23:40.3, 66. Elsie Lang 23:40.3, 76. Jenna Gilmore 25:45.0.

BOYS TEAM SCORES 1. Solon 48, 2. West Delaware 77, 3. Dubuque Wahlert 85, 4. Clear Creek Amana 90, 5. Monticello 97, 6. Davenport Assumption 130, 7. Cedar Rapids Xavier 207, 8. Washington 207, 9. Mt. Pleasant 234, 10. Central DeWitt 273, 11. Maquoketa 333

8. Washington boys — 2. Lance Sobaski 16:27.9, 32. Micah Rees 17:51.0, 54. Cameron Vongpanya 18:48.3, 56. Elijah Morris, 18:50.6, 63. Peyton Snakenberg 19:30.0, 68. William Kennedy 20:26.2

9. Mount Pleasant boys — 18. Ben Carthey 17:21.4, 48. Luke Ryon 18:30.9, 51. Logan Lee 18:43.6, 57. Nate McWilliams 18:52.7, 60. Gannon McNamee 19:09.0, 61 Tyler Johnson 19:17.7, 62. Gabe Feldmann 19:23.1