Southeast Conference names all-league

All-SEC 1st, 2nd, honorable mention, all-academic out

Mt. Pleasant's Nik Coble throws a pitch for Mt. Pleasant this season. Coble was one of six Panthers selected to the Southeast Conference First Team this season. (File)
Mt. Pleasant's Nik Coble throws a pitch for Mt. Pleasant this season. Coble was one of six Panthers selected to the Southeast Conference First Team this season. (File)

The 2020 All-Southeast Conference baseball teams were released last week. The league also released the players who qualified to be on the All-Academic list.

The Burlington Grayhounds had a good first year in its return to the league, but the Mt. Pleasant Panthers let them know how tough the road would be as the two teams tied for the league title with 8-2 records. There could be debate as to the outright champion because Burlington swept its meeting with Mt. Pleasant, but lost to the Washington Demons and the Fort Madison Bloodhounds. The Panthers only lost to Burlington and not two other teams. Officially, it was a co-championship.

Nine of the 13 players on the first team were from those conference co-champions in Mt. Pleasant and Burlington, but six were from Mt. Pleasant. Washington had two selections while Fort Madison and Keokuk had one apiece.

Mt. Pleasant’s players on the first team were Nik Coble, Jaxon Hoyle, Clayton Lowery, Rylan Seberg, Chase Williamson and Brennan Bender. Washington’s two on the first team were Ethan Patterson and Reece Mayer.

The Fairfield Trojans had two players on the second team as did Washington. Mt. Pleasant had one.

The Southeast Conference Player of the Year was Tyson Powers of Burlington. Powers led the league in batting average at .480. He was one of four in the league who did not commit an error. Fairfield’s Elan Ledger was one other as were two Bloodhounds.

Of Mt. Pleasant’s first team selections, Coble led the league in home runs with four. No one else had more than two. He also had the most runs batted in with 26. Powers was second at 23. Mt. Pleasant’s Seberg and Washington’s Mayer, both first team selections, tied for third with 17.

Seberg scored the most runs with 22 and Panthers teammate and fellow first team pick Lowery was a close second at 21. Lowery connected on the most doubles with eight and the most triples with four. Mayer was tied for second in triples with Fairfield’s Drew Martin and Washington teammate Luke Turner with three. Washington’s Patterson, a first team pick as the utility player, and Mayer were tied for fourth in doubles with five.

Mt. Pleasant landed two pitchers on the first team in Coble and Hoyle. They led the league in innings pitched with Hoyle at 35 2/3 and Coble at 31 2/3. Hoyle led the SEC in wins with five and had an earned run average of 1.18. Coble had three wins and his ERA was 0.66. Coble had the most strikeouts with 41 and Hoyle was second at 36. Patterson was fourth with 27 Ks. Turner was third with 35.

Mt. Pleasant’s first team outfielder Chase Williamson and Washington’s Brady Knutson, who led the league in on base percentage at .587, reached base seven times each when hit by a pitch. Williamson was fourth in OBP at .540.

Williamson (12) and Seberg (10) were first and second in stolen bases.

Fairfield’s Matthew Swanson led the league in reaching base by a walk with 18. Knutson was second in walks with 16. Mt. Pleasant’s Brennan Bender, a first team selection as the designated hitter whose OBP was eighth at .478, was third in walks with 15.

There were three pitchers chosen for each of the first and second teams and one catcher, one designated hitter and a utility player. Four infielders and three outfielders apiece were also named to each of the teams. Two players from each of the league’s six teams were selected for honorable mention.

Washington saw six of its players on the academic list while Mt. Pleasant and Fairfield had five apiece.

2020 Southeast Conference Baseball

First Team

P Nik Coble, senior, Mt Pleasant

P Jaxon Hoyle, senior, Mt Pleasant

P Juan Reyes, sophomore, Burlington

C Miller Giesler, sophomore, Keokuk

INF Jason Thurman, junior, Fort Madison

INF Tyson Powers, senior, Burlington

INF Clayton Lowery, senior, Mt Pleasant

INF Mateo Rascon, freshman, Burlington

OF Rylan Seberg, senior, Mt Pleasant

OF Reece Mayer, junior, Washington

OF Chase Williamson, junior, Mt Pleasant

DH Brennen Bender, junior, Mt Pleasant

UTL Ethan Patterson, freshman, Washington

Player of the Year Tyson Powers, Burlington, senior

Second team

P Kane Williams, sophomore, Fort Madison

P Lucas Kroll, sophomore, Washington

P Matt Hopper, junior, Fort Madison

C Landes Williams, junior, Fort Madison

INF Taylor Bunton, junior, Burlington

INF Corbin Broeker, senior, Mt Pleasant

INF Luke Turner, senior, Washington

INF Vasin Thurman, junior, Fort Madison

OF Brock Dengler, sophomore, Burlington

OF Drew Martin, senior, Fairfield

OF Reiburn Turnbull, sophomore, Fort Madison

DH Brandon Reichelt senior, Fort Madison

UTL Nate Smithburg, sophomore, Fairfield

Honorable Mention

Brady Knutson, senior, Washington

Trevor Quigley, senior, Washington

Jack Johnson, junior, Mt. Pleasant

Dalton Gardner, junior, Mt. Pleasant

Carter Ferrel, senior, Fairfield

Cameron Ledger, senior, Fairfield

Tate Johnson, sophomore, Fort Madison

Jace Burgher, senior, Fort Madison

Mason Fort, senior, Burlington

Jacob Zahner, sophomore, Burlington

Josh Wills, sophomore, Keokuk

Corey Skinner, junior, Keokuk


Drew Martin, Fairfield

Matthew Swanson, Fairfield

Brad Smithburg, Fairfield

Brody Angstead, Fairfield

Wyatt Baker, Fairfield

Myles Jones, Washington

Reece Mayer, Washington

Brady Knutson, Washington

Trevor Quigley, Washington

Caleb Tanner, Washington

Luke Turner, Washington

Will Edeker, Mt. Pleasant

Dalton Gardner, Mt. Pleasant

Jack Johnson, Mt. Pleasant

Nik Coble, Mt. Pleasant

Rylan Seberg, Mt. Pleasant

Brandon Reichelt, Fort Madison

Jason Thurman, Fort Madison

Vaisn Thurman, Fort Madison

Taylor Bunton, Burlington

Mason Fort, Burlington

Brendon Hale, Burlington

Hunter Johnson, Burlington

Michael Mercer, Burlington

Jacob Venvertloh, Burlington

Corey Skinner, Keokuk

Final Southeast Conference Standings

Team Record Conf.

Mt. Pleasant 15-7 8-2

Burlington 9-7 8-2

Fort Madison 7-3 11-7

Washington 9-8 5-5

Fairfield 4-17 2-8

Keokuk 1-17 0-10