Stout, Coble make IPSWA all-state

Keota, WACO seniors only Union area selections

Union phto

WACO's Nik Coble puts a rebound back in for a score in a game against Keota earlier this season. Coble was named to the Class 1A All-State Second Team by the Iowa Press Sports Writers Association Tuesday.
Union phto WACO's Nik Coble puts a rebound back in for a score in a game against Keota earlier this season. Coble was named to the Class 1A All-State Second Team by the Iowa Press Sports Writers Association Tuesday.

DES MOINES — The Iowa Print Sports Writers Association (IPSWA) announced the 2020 boys basketball all-state teams Tuesday.

The teams were selected by print sports writers in Iowa during a meeting on Sunday. there were eight selections for each of a first team, second team and third team in each of the four classes.

Union area teams had two players selected, both in Class 1A.

Keota senior JD Stout was a first team selection while WACO senior Nik Coble was a second team selection.

Stout was second in the state, regardless of class, in scoring with an average of 29.1 points per game in the 2019-20 season. The 6-footer led the Eagles to a 20-4 record this season.

Stout made 250 of 451 field goal attempts for a 55.4 percentage. He nailed 65 of 171 3-pointers for 38 percent. Stout rarely missed a free throw, canning 133-of-157 for 84.7 percent. He had 89 rebounds for a 3.7 average, 70 assists to 61 turnovers and 42 steals.

Keota lost in a district final to Montezuma, which lost in the state semifinals, but won the third-place game.

Coble led WACO to a No. 2 ranking in the Associated Press poll and an undefeated regular season, but the Warriors were upset by New London in the postseason to finish with a 22-1 record.

Coble, at 6 feet, 7 inches, filled the stat line for the Warriors. Coble was second in the Southeast Iowa Super Conference South Division in assists with 114, which was an average of five a game, second in blocks with 41 (1.8 a game), and third in steals with 62 (2.7 a game). His average points per game of 14.6 was sixth in the division. His assist to turnover ratio was nearly 2-to-1 at 114-to-67.

The career rebounding leader for the Warriors, Coble had 66 more rebounds than the second leading rebounder in the division. He collected 305 caroms this season at an average of 13.3 per game. That total was third in Class 1A and the average was second in the class. His 90 offensive rebounds was the third-best total in the class and his total of 215 defensive boards was fourth.

Norwalk’s Bowen Born was named Mr. Basketball. Born led the Norwalk Warriors to their first team state championship in Class 3A.

Born is headed to the University of Northern Iowa on a full-ride scholarship. He was 17 points shy of scoring 1,000 points in his senior season alone, scoring an average 36.4 points per game, first in the state. The 5-foot-11 guard was sixth on the Iowa High School boys basketball all-time career scoring list. Norwalk was 79-23 during his four-year career. He is a three-time all-Little Hawkeye Conference first teamer. Norwalk won three league titles under his leadership. He was the Class 3A Iowa Basketball Coaches Association Player of the Year in 2018-19.

The River Valley Conference had senior Masen Miller of Iowa City Regina and senior Caleb Delzell of Camanche make the Class 2A first team while junior Justin Recker of Monticello made second team and two more Camanche seniors landed on the third team in L.J. Henderson and Cameron Soenksen.

South Iowa Cedar League players Trey Shearer, a junior at Montezuma, and Noah Beck, a senior at BGM, made the Class 1A first and second teams, respectively.

The Southeast Iowa Super Conference saw Keegan Edwards of Lone Tree selected to the Class 1A second team.

Class 1A

First Team

School Grade

Trey Shearer Montezuma Jr.

Nick Reid Central City Sr.

Angelo Winkel Algona Garrigan Jr.

J.D. Stout Keota Sr.

Kiks Rosengarten Wapsie Valley Sr.

Kaleb Cornielsen Easton Valley Jr.

Braden Gibbons Madrid Sr.

Alex Koppes Springville Jr.

Second Team

School Grade

Brennan Sefrit Bedford Sr.

Jackson Louscher South O’Brien Sr.

Nik Coble WACO Sr.

Zach Huff Don Bosco Sr.

Keegan Edwards Lone Tree Sr.

Noah Beck BGM Sr.

Kayden Ames West Fork Jr.

Trey Baker Martensdale-St. Marys Jr.

Third Team

School Grade

Spencer Schorg Remsen-St. Marys Sr.

Jessen Weber Easton Valley Sr.

Taurice Grant Meskwaki Settlement School Jr.

Cole Damman Baxter Sr.

Nathan Moeller Clinton Prince of Peace Sr.

Gage Fry Grand View Christian Sr.

Creighton Nelson Exira-EHK Sr.

Chett Helming Lake Mills Sr.

Class 2A

First Team

School Grade

Cooper De Jean OABCIG Jr.

Masen Miller Iowa City Regina Sr.

Caleb Delzell Camanche Sr.

Austin Miller North Linn Sr.

Austin Hilmer North Linn So.

Tanner Te Slaa Boyden-Hull So.

Michael Keegan Dyersville Beckman Sr.

Bryce Coppock West Sioux Sr.

Second Team

School Grade

Jack Tiarks Treynor Sr.

Zane Neubaum South Central Calhoun Sr.

Hunter Dekkers West Sioux Sr.

Justin Recker Monticello Jr.

Anthony Pothoff Van Meter Sr.

Lucas Lorenzen Milford Okoboji Sr.

Bryce Achenbach Woodward-Granger Sr.

Keyton Moser Boyden-Hull Sr

Third Team

School Grade

Blake Chance Albia Jr.

Curren Ingram Des Moines Christian Sr.

Dane Fuller Dike-New Hartford Jr.

L.J. Henderson Camanche Sr.

Cameron Soenksen Camanche Sr.

Jack Stogdill Treynor Sr.

Josh Van Gorp Pella Christian Sr.

Dan Jungling Pella Christian Sr.

Class 3A

First Team

School Grade

Bowen Born Norwalk Sr.

Xavier Foster Oskaloosa Sr.

Kieren Nichols Knoxville Jr.

Alex Van Kalsbeek MOC-Floyd Valley Sr.

Easton Darling Winterset Sr.

Sean Peeters Assumption Davenport Sr.

Karson Sharar Iowa Falls-Alden Jr.

Keaton Kutcher Mount Vernon Jr.

Second Team

School Grade

Daniel Wright Sergeant Bluff Luton Sr.

Logan Shetterly Pella Sr.

Wyatt Wegener Algona Sr.

Connor Drew Huxley Ballard Jr.

Luke Rankin Dallas Center-Grimes Jr.

Ryan Blum Glenwood Jr.

Tyler Johnson Norwalk Sr.

Christian Withrow Clear Creek Amana Jr.

Third Team

School Grade

Tucker Kinney DeWitt Central Sr.

Kole Tupa Center Point-Urbana Sr.

Cole Glasgow Dallas Center-Grimes So.

Andrew Formanek Clear Lake Jr.

Karter Lein Carroll Sr.

Connor Bruck Harlan Sr.

Cael Schmitt Dubuque Wahlert Sr.

Matthew McDonald Centerville Sr.

Class 4A

First Team

School Grade

Braxton Bayless Ankeny Sr.

Ty Anderson North Scott Sr.

Tucker DeVries Waukee Jr.

Payton Sandfort Waukee Jr.

Even Brauns Iowa City West Sr.

Michael Duax Dubuque Hempstead Jr.

DaQuavion Walker Waterloo West Sr.

Cody McCullough Ankeny Centennial Sr.

Second Team

School Grade

Josh Ollendieck Cedar Falls Sr.

Jaleque Dunson Sioux City East Sr.

Jayden Houston Davenport North Jr.

Jaron Crews Ankeny Centennial Jr.

Jake Auer West Des Moines Valley Sr.

Sam Kilburg North Scott Sr.

Matt Stilwill West Des Moines Dowling Sr.

Trae Swartz Ottumwa Jr.

Third Team

School Grade

Landon Wolf Cedar Falls Jr.

Emarion Ellis Davenport Central Jr.

Caleb Schlaak Cedar Rapids Kennedy Jr.

Keshawn Christian Iowa City High Sr.

Josh Dix Council Bluffs Lincoln So.

A.J. Tiogo Indianola Sr.

Micah Johnson Ankeny Centennial Sr.

Ryan Riggs West Des Moines Dowling Jr.