Washington names senior athlete award winners

GTNS photo by Doug Brenneman

Isabel Bailey scores for Washington.
GTNS photo by Doug Brenneman Isabel Bailey scores for Washington.

When Washington High School presented its Senior Awards Wednesday, it recognized a number of athletes, and named football coach James Harris the John Harp Memorial Coach of the Year.

The Athlete of the Year for females was Isabel Bailey. The male Athlete of the Year had two named for the award in Tristin Westphal-Edwards and Cade Hennigan.

The archery program named Griffin Wood the Jim Sievers Outstanding Male Archer and Paige Hyde the Mark Seymour Outstanding Female Archer.

The Tri-Athlete Awards went to Bailey (volleyball, basketball, track), Mitchell Driscoll (football, basketball, track, golf, baseball), Hennigan (football, basketball, track, baseball), Kolton Hinrichsen (football, basketball, baseball), Garrett Ikerd (football, wrestling, soccer) and Cade Pohren (football, wrestling, track).

An outstanding athlete in each sport was named. They are Bailey - volleyball; Hennigan - football; Ben Loy and Claire Horak - cross-country; Riley Lambert - bowling; Hennigan and Bailey - basketball; Westphal-Edwards - wrestling; Driscoll, Hennigan, Lincoln Kleese, Bailey and Jenah Greiner - track; Caleb Suchan - soccer; Driscoll and Carly Burlingame - golf; Jacob Hall - baseball 2018; Morgan Brinning- softball 2018.

Hennigan also recieved the Bernie Saggau award.

Molly Sparks and Kleese were named the Les Leeper Sportsmanship winners.